5 proven techniques to achieve liberation from the cycle of birth and death

5 proven techniques to achieve liberation from the cycle of birth and death


5 proven techniques to achieve liberation from the cycle of birth and death


5 proven techniques to achieve liberation from the cycle of birth and death

Following are 5  proven techniques to achieve liberation from the cycle of birth and death:



 1. Bhakti yoga


Bhakti Yoga is also known as the path of devotion to God. Bhakti yoga is considered the finest and easiest path to liberation – Moksha. The path of devotion is a path of love towards the Creator and all things in the universe. This path is followed by those who come to realize through any means that there is nothing in the world that has not been created from the essence of God. Thus, if there is no reality but God and God is the cause and consequence of creation, then it stands to reason that we are also nothing but God himself – in body mind and spirit. When that realization truly and practically dawns on the individual, all he can feel is love for the Lord and the person is said to be in Bhakti Yoga. Thus Bhakti yoga is a state of being in love with God.

  1. Gyaan Yoga


Gyaan Yoga, or the Yoga of knowledge, is not a state of being like Bhakti Yoga. Instead it is a guide map that helps us walk on the true path to liberation and not get lost on the way.  The Yoga of knowledge is essential since if we don’t correctly know the nature of God; the nature of the world and the path to Godhead, we cannot walk the true path. Gyaan yoga is preparatory to liberation and is an integral part of achieving realization. When ‘Gyaan’ or knowledge is realized, it leads to the spontaneous generation of love for the Lord and devotion to the lord. The danger in the path of knowledge is that till the knowledge remains theoretical, it tends to strengthen the Ego and such a person has a tendency to fall from the lord’s grace.



  1. Raja yoga

Raja yoga is a system that integrates various aspects of yoga that are required to find liberation. The embodied soul’s attention, is naturally tuned to flow outwards into the world and the attention of most beings is towards the indulgences of the world. This is the exact opposite of the state of liberation or Moksha. Raja yoga through various means such as knowledge , practice, discipline , austerities and sacrifice,  tries to guide the outward flow of desire and turns it inwards towards the path that leads to realization. Yam-acts, Niyam-rules, Dhyan-meditation, Dharna-visualization, Samadhi-thoughtlessness etc are some of the stages that Raja yoga helps the seeker to take on the way to liberation. If Gyaan yoga is the gaining of knowledge then Raja yoga is like a university that has various levels of study that ultimately lead to graduation that is Moksha.


  1. Karma yoga

Karma yoga is actually walking the path to liberation. It is the implementation of all that has been learnt in Gyaan Yoga and through Raja Yoga. In essence Karma yoga is the path of non-selfish action. Action is inevitable in this world and no being can live without taking action. It is the action and its fruit that binds us through the law of karma to the cycle of birth and death.  But karma yoga, while keeping us in the action mode, also provides us with an opportunity to escape from the cycle of birth and death. If we take actions that are not for our personal purpose but are done as a sense of duty and without any personal gratification, then that action is no longer karma but takes the stature of Dharma and we are free of the consequences of our action. A good example is that of a soldier and a murderer. Both these individuals take lives but the soldier does it as a duty while the murderer takes a life for some personal gratification. The consequences are very different. In the case of the soldier, his action does not bind him and instead becomes a tool for liberation while the acts of a murderer bind him more firmly to the wheel of rebirth.  Karma yoga is necessary to all other Yoga’s and systems mentioned above since for the seeker of liberation , all knowledge gained has to be put in practice and without that liberation cannot be achieved.


(5) Surat Shabd Yoga

No discussion on the paths and techniques of liberation will be complete without mentioning Surat Shabd yoga. This is the actual path that the soul takes when it gains the capacity to leave the body consciously and fly. This path is known as the path of Surat-Shabd yoga. When all other previous yoga’s have been mastered and the being is in a state of devotion (Bhakti) to the Lord, then the soul of such a devotee naturally rises like a hydrogen balloon and is ready to actually walk the path to liberation. Such a soul is guided on the path by divine sights and sounds. ‘Surat’ means Soul and ‘Shabd’ means the divine sound that can be followed as a guide by the ascending soul till the soul reaches those regions that are indestructible and with that the soul has achieved liberation. From the region of creation, the soul enters the region of the Creator, where it realizes it’s true nature and is thus liberated.


Devotion or Bhakti arises when the being falls in love with the Lord. The nature of love is such that the person in love can do nothing else but constantly think and obsess about the thing he loves. He can do nothing else. A being who is in love with the Lord, employs the following means to always be in remembrance of the Lord.

  1. Satsang Bhakti

Satsang Bhakti happens when the devotee seeks the company of those people who also love the Lord just like him. In such a company the being finds peace since all people in that company can do nothing but talk about the Lord.

  1. Shravan Bhakti

The act of hearing the tales and deeds of the Lord is called Shravan Bhakti. This is another means of being in the remembrance of the Lord – by hearing more about him through various means such as stories, kathas, experiences of others, bhajans, hymns etc.

  1. Kirtan Bhakti

This is the act of singing the praises of the Lord through bhajans, hymns, songs in praise etc. The being who sings the praises of the Lord, loses his sense of self by the act of singing and thus that person achieves a feeling a oneness and bliss since he has for a temporary time lost his sense of self and has merged with the Lord.

  1. Sumiran Bhakti

Sumiran is the act of constantly thinking and being in remembrance of the Lord. When one’s  mind is constantly engaged in thinking about the Lord or in taking his name, then such a person is said to be in Sumiran. It is said that as one thinks, so one becomes and the person who thinks about the Lord constantly , cannot but reach and be merged with the Lord.

  1. Archana Bhakti

This is the act of worship that one offers to God. The Lord loves the being who loves him and who offers him the act of devotion through simple means but some people like to offer their devotion through special means or prayers or worships or sacrifices. All conscious acts of offerings to the Lord, simple or special, are called Archana and are a form of devotion. The Geeta says in chapter 9 verse 26 that “Whoever offers Me with love a leaf, a flower, a fruit or water, I, appear before that selfless devotee of sinless mind and delightfully partake of that article offered by him with Love.”  This act of offering all that one uses for oneself first to the Lord, is called Archana Bhakti.